A Poem

Here’s a poem I wrote last week when I drove home in the rain. It made me think about the semester I spent studying abroad in Wales, a land that will always hold a special place in my heart. Rainy weather makes me nostalgic and “homesick” for Cymru.

Cymru

 

Despite my waterproof jacket,

Feeling like I’ve been through the wash,

Soaked to the bone

After the chilly walk home.

 

Somehow,

The rain here

Seems to fly up from the sidewalk

Instead of falling from the clouds.

 

Peeling off

Denim doused in fresh rainwater,

Slick, wet socks clinging to frozen toes

Fused into waterlogged hiking boots.

 

Time for a cup of tea

With a bit of milk and honey

After changing into

Something un-wet.

 

Time to order in

Chips soaked in malt vinegar,

And wash it down with

A chilled can of Strongbow.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “A Poem

  1. Madella Smith

    It’s amazing what you can come up with when you have time to think! Thank you for sharing! It reminds me of Ireland. I don’t know what it is, but I don’t think waterproof jackets actually work over there. Mine was always soaked too.

  2. Sarah Geis

    I love reading things that my classmates write. This poem is fantastic in it’s simplistic but precise language! Thank you so much for sharing your work.

  3. writingwabisabi

    Lovely! Thanks for sharing!

  4. I’m so hungry right now and I don’t want to eat in Burge. I just want chips and malt vinegar!!!

  5. Kellie

    This is awesome, Randi! Thank you for sharing it with us!

  6. Nice poem, Randi…I really like the rhythm..
    I’ve been to Scotland and Ireland and I know what you mean 😉
    My wife is an Anglophile and she is dying to go to Wales one day…
    thanks for sharing your poem!

  7. Breana Shelton

    My two favorite things about this poem: “The rain here/Seems to fly up from the sidewalk/Instead of falling from the clouds.” This seems to be a very original description of how much rain is actually falling. I imagine that even with an umbrella, you are still somehow getting so wet that it simply can’t just be coming from above. I also love that you used “un-wet” as opposed to “dry”. It was both more original, and also once again gave the idea that this is a really thorough soaking you’ve had.

Leave a Reply

